Plaça Catalunya

This weekend I traveled to Barcelona with my mom. It was a very different experience traveling with her again because I had gotten so used to traveling with friends. We had an absolutely amazing time!

We went to many different restaurants, walked around the Christmas Market in front of the Cathedral, and did some turrón shopping in one of the small artisanal shops that were in Las Ramblas. Turrón is a sweet that comes in bars and can be either chocolate, marzipan, or almond based. It is a huge Christmas tradition in Barcelona and all of Spain, as well as something that has been passed down in my family.

My favorite memory of the trip, however, was going to Plaça Catalunya. What made it so special was that my mom recalled being there when she was younger and feeding the pigeons. When we got there, I was surprised by the obscene amount of pigeons that there were and even more surprised to see how happy my mom was to see them! She bought a bag of seeds and told me that it was exactly as she remembered it. As soon as I let some food fall on the ground 30 pigeons surrounded me and my mom. They walked all over my shoes and one even decided to sit on my mom’s arm! It was a really fun experience and I am very glad I got to share it with my mother.

 

img_2955img_2968

About Rosa Maria Noriega

My name is Rosa Maria Noriega and I am from Querétaro, Mexico. I am a Management and Entrepreneurship major and form part of the 2016 Rome Start. I chose Rome Start because I wanted to have a unique freshman experience in Rome!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

