Biblioteca Angelica

In honor of it being one of the last classes of Writing Responsibly, our professor decided to do something special and have a field trip. He called in a favor with a friend and took us to Biblioteca Angelica: the oldest library in Europe!

We got a private tour of the library and even got to see some of the first editions of books that were centuries old.

The walls of the library were lined with books that had very elaborate covers. Our guide explained to us about how they were made and decorated. She showed us one particular book that was bigger that the rest, and told us that it had taken an entire sheep to make it!

My favorite thing about Biblioteca Angelica was learning that it is open for public use. I was surprised by this because of how old it is and the history it holds, my initial assumption was that it must be some sort of museum. Because if this, I think Biblioteca Angelica embodies Rome perfectly because it is living history that is still relevant and working today. I plan to come study here next semester.

After the tour, Professor Rutt took us to a cafe nearby and treated us to a wonderful caffellatte, cornetto, and marron glacé. We were not expecting this and were very grateful! We all had a lovely conversation and got to learn a lot we did not know about Professor Rutt. All in all, it was a fantastic morning and one of my favorite classes.

img_3135img_3130

About Rosa Maria Noriega

My name is Rosa Maria Noriega and I am from Querétaro, Mexico. I am a Management and Entrepreneurship major and form part of the 2016 Rome Start. I chose Rome Start because I wanted to have a unique freshman experience in Rome!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

