Firenze

The first stop in my Fall Break trip was Firenze. I arrived by bus early in the morning and then walked to my hostel which was in the heart of the city. It was a beautiful day, and Firenze greeted me with amazing views of the river and Brunelleschi’s Dome.

Soon after checking in and dropping my bags off, I started walking towards Il Ponte Vecchio. The iconic bridge with its colorful architecture was a true highlight of my trip. The bridge had expensive jewelry shops on both sides and I spent a good while looking at the luxuriously delicate pieces crafted out of gold and silver.

I then made my way to the grand basilica of Santa Maria del Fiore. Upon entering the basilica, I immediately thought back to my Art in Rome class and was able to recognize the nave, side aisles, apse, transept, and clerestory.

My favorite part of visiting the basilica was being able to climb to the top of the dome. It is a very high climb, and the views were truly magnificent. What I enjoyed the most about the climb were the frequently barred windows that offered magical views of Firenze and its architecture. When I finally reached the top, I was blown away by the beauty of the predominantly brick and cream landscape. In the background, Tuscany´s mountains surrounded the city, it´s peaks hidden by the clouds.

Views Dome.pngwindow-dome

About Rosa Maria Noriega

My name is Rosa Maria Noriega and I am from Querétaro, Mexico. I am a Management and Entrepreneurship major and form part of the 2016 Rome Start. I chose Rome Start because I wanted to have a unique freshman experience in Rome!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

