Book shopping in Genova

During fall break, my Northern Chronicles took me to Genova. The first day was a rainy one, so Alejandra and I found refuge in a store- lined alley in which we spent the rainy hours exploring. My favorite find was a small bookshop.

We left our dripping umbrellas at the door and proceeded to browse through all the Italian best sellers. I am on a quest to be fluent in Italian, so I approached the woman at the front desk and asked for a recommendation. She thought about it for a moment and then decidedly made her way to a bookshelf in the back.

“Ecco qua,” she said and handed me a pocket sized, pink book with the title of La Lezione del Maestro. The book only had 150 pages, but she looked at me and told me it was her very favorite. “Un libro veramente bellissimo!”

I bought the book, and then Alejandra and I made our way to another little shop to try focaccia. Focaccia is a type of bread which we had noticed is very important in this region. Alejandra got some with tomatoes, while I had the one with olives. Afterward, we walked to the central piazza and sat down on some stairs that were sheltered from the rain. There, I proceeded to read the first few pages of the small book I purchased.

el-maistro

About Rosa Maria Noriega

My name is Rosa Maria Noriega and I am from Querétaro, Mexico. I am a Management and Entrepreneurship major and form part of the 2016 Rome Start. I chose Rome Start because I wanted to have a unique freshman experience in Rome!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

