#Visca el Barça i visca Catalunya

Each time I travel to a new city I fall in love. This past weekend was no exception and the beautiful, sunny, ever lively Barcelona stole my heart! From the gorgeous sunshine to the sandy beaches and rolling hills I can’t recall a time that I’ve given my heart away so fast!

DSC01248

Alejandra, Anna, Francine, Kiara and I went to Spain over the weekend of Alejandra’s birthday and there was so much to celebrate! With the approaching midterms and busy schedules we all have this semester, a weekend in paradise was much needed! Landing in Barcelona on Thursday night gave us the entire weekend to experience the culture and take in the gaudy (Gaudi, get it?) architecture that made this city so unique!

DSC01222

On Friday our group set out and saw the huge Sagrada Familia, a church that is still being built, and, upon completion, will be the largest church in the world! The inside of Gaudi’s masterpiece looked like a rainbow and the detail was breathtaking! Soon after we walked throughout the streets of Barça and took in more of Gaudi’s famous pieces, the houses reminded me of something from a fairytale and the whimsical style made the city that much more fun! Gaudi wasn’t the only artist we made sure to appreciate in Barça! Our group went to the Picasso museum and I got to see my favorite artists’ work up close and personal!

DSC01145

Saturday was a trip to the famous St. Joseph’s market and fresh fruit, fuet, and fish were abundant! We packed a picnic and then set out to visit Park Qüell, the most stunning park I have yet to experience in my eighteen years of life! The sun made the day that much better and we got to spend the day looking over the entire coast! Traditional Spanish tapas was a must, so after seeing the Magic Fountain we indulged in chopitos, Croquetas and Patatas bravas!

DSC01233

The city was absolutely amazing and I’m counting down the days until summer when I can go back and fall in love all over again!

About Emily S.

Hi! My name is Emily Sarsok, I'm 18 years old and have spent the majority of my life living in Germany. I'm a Rome Start student with a declared major in Social Work and pursuing a minor in Criminal Justice. I chose Rome Start because its close to home, and an amazing opportunity to experience a different culture while working toward a college degree! It would be impossible to pick my favorite part about this experience because I love everything about the program; the people, the city, the culture, and the food...especially the food.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

