Rome Start: Let’s Start

On August 24th, sixteen students from around the world gathered together to spend the first year of their collegiate experience in Italy. Students from Spain, Germany, Panama, as well as students with citizenships in Italy and France have embarked on an adventure that will undoubtedly shape their futures…

 10460256_595007387284102_8393344912123001532_n

Orientation week has been an exciting and eventful experience for us freshman here on campus! Pasta, Pizza, Prosecco, and Paddle boarding have all been a memorable part of the first couple of days, and I’m sure such things will continue to play a part in our lives for the next nine months! However, as the start of classes and homework loads is fast approaching such magical experiences will have to be wait for the weekend, as we prepare to study in one of the most ancient cities in the world. This amazing city has become more than just our playground, it is now officially our classroom.

This 1,285 km² city is the largest classroom I have personally set foot in, and I am excited to get lost in the history of such a majestic place; I look forward to studying the layouts of every twisted street, sketching pictures of the monuments I have seen sketched onto postcards, and conducting important experiments such as where the best gelato is sold…

paddle board 2

About Emily S.

Hi! My name is Emily Sarsok, I'm 18 years old and have spent the majority of my life living in Germany. I'm a Rome Start student with a declared major in Social Work and pursuing a minor in Criminal Justice. I chose Rome Start because its close to home, and an amazing opportunity to experience a different culture while working toward a college degree! It would be impossible to pick my favorite part about this experience because I love everything about the program; the people, the city, the culture, and the food...especially the food.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rome Start: Let’s Start

  1. jmsabbagh says:

    Beautiful post.My wife and l visited Italy and enjoyed one week in Rome.Be safe and be successful.JMS

Leave a Reply

