Visit at the World Food Programme

On April 12th I had the opportunity, along with other students of Loyola, to go to visit the headquarters of the World Food Programme in Rome.  The World Food Programme is a UN organization dedicated to reducing hunger in the world.  We were incredibly fortunate, as we also had the chance to meet the Wold Food Programme Executive Director Ertharin Cousin.

Cousin explained the goals of the association and what the World Food Programme had accomplished in recent years. She also explained that recently the program has been primarily focused on bringing support to Syria, as well as Syrian refugee camps in Turkey, Iran, Iraq, Jordan and Lebanon.  My personal impression of Cousin was that she is a woman determined to improve the situation of malnutrition in the world.  She has truly inspired me and convinced me to fight every day to work towards my goals.

Immagine

Immagine

About Giovanna Giuriolo

I am Giovanna and I am a freshem in the Rome Start program at Loyola University. I was born in Brasil and raised in Italy. I am studying History and International Relations.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

