A few updates…

As our time as Rome Starters dwindles down and the countdown for summer begins we plan on getting our final travels done, discovering more of Rome, revisiting our favorite spots in Rome and preparing for final exams.

Tonight we are having our final dinner as Rome Starters before the end of the semester. Susana Cavallo, the Dean of Faculty in the John Felice Rome Center, is taking us all out along with a few SLA’s to Ristorante Cervinia for a last hurrah and a chance to catch up and talk about the future and whatnot.

The JFRC Talent Show and the Banquet are also coming up in the following weeks and we are both excited and sad: excited because these events are a ton of fun but sad because it means it’s the end of a great year abroad. But hey, Dr. Seuss had a point when he said not to cry because it’s over, but smile because it happened, right?

As of now I’m just overwhelmed with emotions. Carson McCuller said it right when she said that “we are torn between a nostalgia for the familiar and an urge for the foreign and strange. As often as not, we are homesick most for the places we have never known.”

It’s crazy to think that last August we came together in Rome for the first time. It feels like so much and so little time at the same time.

About Daniela Argüello

I'm a freshman at Loyola University Chicago and I am in the Rome Start Program, so I currently live in Loyola's John Felice Rome Centre. I was born in Miami, FL but I am from Nicaragua and I've lived there for most of my life. I chose this program because I've always been fascinated by Italy and I wanted to do something different from everyone else back home, so why not start my university experience in one of the greatest cities of the world instead of back home or directly in the US? I absolutely love the program and Rome and I would not change it for anything!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

