New kids on the block…

I think I might have mentioned in a previous post how I was worried yet extremely curious about the spring semester. It was going to be such a huge change, yet again! New people walking the halls, new roommate, new room, new friends, new adventures. To some, this may be the perfect thing: constant change, constant ‘new-ness’. This is how I usually feel, which is why I was a bit scared of the fact that I was worried for the coming changes. I made some great friendships in the fall semester; friendships I will never forget and, as far as I can tell, will never end. To be completely honest, I did not expect to form such strong bonds over a period of four months, but I did and I miss them terribly. But now, here we are moving into our second month of the spring semester. New people walking the halls, new roommate, new room, new friends, new adventures. What’s it like? I absolutely love it!! I don’t think it’s the new students that affected how I am making new friends, I think it’s just the simple fact that the hard part is done (first semester of college). You already went through the awkward stages of not knowing what to do and where to go and being the babies on campus. I mean, technically, we still are the babies on campus, with the slight difference that we have lived in Rome for at least 4 months, an advantage we have on the newcomers. I can’t say where the semester will take us for sure. But I can say, that friendships are being built and strengthened with this amazing and unique experience we all share here in Rome. We are learning together. We are travelling together. We are hanging out together. We are living together. Something good has to come out of that, no?

All I am saying is that if you are worried like I was about your second semester at the JFRC being like another first semester of college, don’t be. It is going to be OK, and not only that, but it’s going to be better. You just have to build up the courage to smack a smile on that pretty face o’ yours and say hi at mensa, and that is how it can all begin. Good luck future Rome-Starters! You will be just fine, I know it! 😉

About Daniela Argüello

I'm a freshman at Loyola University Chicago and I am in the Rome Start Program, so I currently live in Loyola's John Felice Rome Centre. I was born in Miami, FL but I am from Nicaragua and I've lived there for most of my life. I chose this program because I've always been fascinated by Italy and I wanted to do something different from everyone else back home, so why not start my university experience in one of the greatest cities of the world instead of back home or directly in the US? I absolutely love the program and Rome and I would not change it for anything!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

