Spring Orientation Trip ’13!

Last semester we were taken on a beautiful trip around Toscana and Umbria for the orientation trip. This time around we went all around Campania! All the students got on buses and we embarked on an amazing journey for the weekend! On the first day we were taken on a tour of Ercolano, or Herculaneum. Then we had a delicious lunch at a winery right under the Vesuvius volcano and had a wine tasting of Lacrima Christi wine. Then we were on the bus again, Sorrento-bound! We saw the amazing view of the bay of Naples and then had a great dinner at the hotel. First thing the next morning we hopped on the bus and went to Casseificio where we visited a Mozzarella di Buffala factory and we had THE best mozzarella and gelato made of the buffalo’s milk! Later, we were taken on a tour of Paestum, where we saw ancient, very well-preserved temples and the museum! We had lunch at a nearby pizzeria, and man was it good! We then headed back to Sorrento and had some free time and then dinner at the hotel. Next, for the last day of the trip, they took us to Caserta to see the amazingly beautiful Royal Palace and then to Cassino where we visited Saint Benedict’s Abbey, to head back to Rome after a great weekend full of history, laughs, ou’s and ah’s.

I really could not say which orientation trip I enjoyed the most, but either way, I can say that they have been some of the best trips I have taken since I’ve been here. Thank you so much Loyola for this great opportunity! I don’t think I could have enjoyed it any more! ❤

Check out some pictures of the trip at: http://www.facebook.com/RomeStart 🙂

About Daniela Argüello

I'm a freshman at Loyola University Chicago and I am in the Rome Start Program, so I currently live in Loyola's John Felice Rome Centre. I was born in Miami, FL but I am from Nicaragua and I've lived there for most of my life. I chose this program because I've always been fascinated by Italy and I wanted to do something different from everyone else back home, so why not start my university experience in one of the greatest cities of the world instead of back home or directly in the US? I absolutely love the program and Rome and I would not change it for anything!
This entry was posted in Orientation, Rome, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

