Student Ambassador Visits in Nicaragua

Over winter break I went back home to Managua, Nicaragua. I stayed a little longer than I normally would have because I wanted to visit a few of the local high schools in the city and talk to students about the Rome Start program. I visited my high school, which is St. Augustine Preparatory School, and two other ones, the American Nicaraguan School and Lincoln International School. I prepared slideshows for the students and spoke to them about the campus, residence life, life in Rome, classes and professors, staff and a little about the application process for the program.

I was very pleased with the feedback and the response I received from both the students and their counselors. They seemed very interested and eager to learn more about the program! They loved the idea of going away to Rome for a year and travelling all over Europe. They also enjoyed the fact that they would not fall behind in classes and credits once they got back to Chicago.

It’s important to note as well that those who are hesitant to do the program because of the move to Chicago the following fall can breathe easily. During your fall semester you have the opportunity to go to Chicago and see the city you’ll eventually live in AND take a full tour of Loyola’s home campus! That gave the students I spoke with a sense of relief and excitement about the program.  They were also glad to hear that it’s not difficult to get around Rome.

Learn more about Loyola’s JFRC and the Rome Start program in the following links:

http://www.luc.edu/romestart

http://www.facebook.com/RomeStartImageImageImageImage

About Daniela Argüello

I'm a freshman at Loyola University Chicago and I am in the Rome Start Program, so I currently live in Loyola's John Felice Rome Centre. I was born in Miami, FL but I am from Nicaragua and I've lived there for most of my life. I chose this program because I've always been fascinated by Italy and I wanted to do something different from everyone else back home, so why not start my university experience in one of the greatest cities of the world instead of back home or directly in the US? I absolutely love the program and Rome and I would not change it for anything!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

