Bittersweet Goodbyes

“Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened.”

-Dr. Seuss

December 13th, 2012

It was the night before the night we all dreaded, yet yearned for. So, everyone went out to celebrate our last night together. In the usual groups of about 20, jforcers tore up the streets of Rome, wandering from bar to bar in Trastevere and Campo de Fiori, looking to live it up together one last time. We had good food, good laughs, we danced all night and then it was time to head home. We were all about to head back to our “original” homes.

December 14th, 2012

All 180 students at JFORCE prepared to leave for the holidays. The air was a mixture of excitement, sadness, happiness and anxiety all rolled into one. Some would leave to continue their regular lives back in their respective homes, a few were actually finished with college, and some of us would return after a month. It was all bittersweet. The following semester would not and could not be the same. As a family, we went through crazy adventures and challenges: we laughed, lived, cried, ate and learned together. We all became a part of each other’s lives, whether in a big way or in a small one. That’s why, regardless of how long our goodbyes lasted, they were so difficult. That night, tears were shed, hugs were embraced and words of comfort, kindness and happiness were shared.

Personally, I already miss everyone so much. I know that going back to a whole new set of students is going to be craaazzzyyyyy!  All the same, I know it will be just as amazing as my first semester. I can not wait to see what is in store for us in just a week!

JFORCE Fall 2012

About Daniela Argüello

I'm a freshman at Loyola University Chicago and I am in the Rome Start Program, so I currently live in Loyola's John Felice Rome Centre. I was born in Miami, FL but I am from Nicaragua and I've lived there for most of my life. I chose this program because I've always been fascinated by Italy and I wanted to do something different from everyone else back home, so why not start my university experience in one of the greatest cities of the world instead of back home or directly in the US? I absolutely love the program and Rome and I would not change it for anything!
This entry was posted in Residence Life, Rome and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

