Firenze per il weekend

This weekend was our last free weekend before the last week of classes and then finals, so my friend and I headed to Florence. We stayed at PLUS Florence Hostel, which was a hostel chain (my personal favorite over a private hostel) much like our hostel in Prague. I was just really unsatisfied with the fact that “espresso” was on the menu for “all you can eat breakfast” but was actually not included. The man at the counter tried to tell me that “espresso” means “American coffee” in English, until I pointed out to him that I 1) wasn’t an idiot and knew that wasn’t true, and 2) right next to “espresso” on the sign was “American coffee”. Other than this little mishap, it was a pleasant stay. My friend and I had both wished we had brought our bathing suits—they had a swimming pool, hot tub, sauna and Turkish baths! We were also just north of the city center and everything was easily accessible by foot. We were right down the road from the Cappelle Medicee and the main train station. Much to our pleasant surprise, it was European Culture Week meaning that all state museums were free to visitors! The Galleria dell’Accademia was the first we visited, with the major goal of seeing David. He’s quite huge and obviously magnificent. Afterwards we saw the picturesque Duomo and then headed for the Galleria degli Uffizi. Although I am not a major art enthusiast, I was really impressed by the Uffizi. We took the time to see all of the top portraits including Madonna Rucellai, Adoration of the Magi, The Duke and Duchess of Urbino, Primavera (my favorite!), The Birth of Venus, Annunciation, The Tribuna, The Holy Family, The Venus of Urbino, Madonna dal Collo Lungo and the Raphael paintings. The place is huge with over forty rooms. We spent two days in Florence and were also able to see the Ponte Vecchio, the Salvatore Ferragamo museum. Palazzo Pitti, Palazzo Vecchio, Piazza della Signoria (where we drank the best coffee at Café Rivoire), Piazza Repubblica and more more. We ate Tuscan food and drank Tuscan wine—now I really just wish I would’ve gone to Tuscany more often!

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

