Easter Break!

For Easter I went to Germany to visit my host family and friends for one last time before I fly back to the states. It was actually my first Easter in Germany, because last year during Easter break I visited a friend of mine from the Czech Republic for a week in Prachatice. This year I was able to participate in the Easter lambs, baskets, and other traditions that we have mirrored in the United States almost to a tee. We colored eggs, cooked, baked and sat around chatting. All in all it was almost identical to how I celebrate Easter in the states—which I muss admit, was nice to have a small piece of home. I was really happy with my decision not to stay in Rome for Easter, although it would have been cool to see the Pope at Sunday mass, I enjoyed having a more family-type of holiday. After all, it’s the worst time to be away from home. I took the overnight train there and back which I would like to say, is a great deal. It’s relatively cheap and since it is run by the German Train Service (Deutsche Bahn) the quality and safety is excellent. It goes from Munich to Venice, Bologna, Florence and then Rome, with a couple other stops in between. Only three weeks left to go –next weekend my friend and I are headed to Florence and then it’s the last week of classes. The talent show, final banquet, final Rome Start dinner, plus more—all in one week. It will be interesting to see how I can fit all that in in addition to my school work.

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

