Academics at the John Felice Rome Center

This week I would like to talk a little bit about academics at Loyola. Following a 450 year old Jesuit tradition, Loyola believes in the value of the “Core” curriculum. The “Core”, as we all refer to it, is a series of courses spreading many different disciplines including: history, ethics, philosophy, theology, science, quantitate analysis, sociological knowledge, an engaged learning requirement and every student is also required to take at least one year of a foreign language. The Rome Start program includes the completion of most of these core requirements, which is really great—this is one of the many benefits of the program. Because many of these core classes are completed in the first year here at the Rome Center, Rome Start students are able to focus almost entirely on Major/Minor classes in the last three years, instead of spending Junior and Senior year trying to “catch-up” and complete all of the core in time for graduation. Plus, taking such a wide variety of courses over multiple disciplines has allowed me to explore other interests and has given me a larger perspective of the academic world. Almost all of the courses I took this year through the Rome Start program were ones I would not have chosen had I began in Chicago, but looking back I am thankful that I needed to take them.  In fact, I am currently taking “Race and Social Relations”, a sociological core, which has inspired me to complete a minor in Sociology. In fact, a background in sociology is helpful when applying to medical programs, which will also be beneficial. And I would have never had chosen the course! Thank goodness I did.  Almost all of the classes include a component about Italy also, whether that be through an on-site visit or simply discussed in class in regards to the topic. Many of the professors are from Europe which also adds a unique component and differing viewpoint.

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

