Spring Break: Poland, Czech Republic and Germany!

My friend and I spent spring break in Krakow, Poland; Prague, Czech Republic and Munich, Germany. It was probably the best spring break I am ever going to have, and I am certainly thankful for it! In Krakow we spent two days exploring the Old Town and the Jewish Ghetto, while feasting on hearty meats, vegetables and potatoes from the best restaurants. The polish currency, the PLN, like the Czech Crowns, was really cheap, so overall spring break ended up being very affordable. This was just another wonderful surprise, and now I can still go see Florence and Bologna before I head back to the States. Krakow is a medium sized city and very manageable. We were able to indulge ourselves in Polish fashion outlets and chocolatiers. One of the days we went to visit the Auschwitz concentration camp. I had seen concentration camps before, but nothing compares to the immenseness of the grounds and brainless suffering and killing that was committed.

On Sunday evening we hopped on an overnight train (my first of many!) that arrived in Prague the next day. We checked into our hostel and had American breakfast! It was truly delightful. Although I must add that I missed my espressos from Rinaldos during break. Prague is huge, much larger than Krakow, but just as easy to get around. It has a large historical center but you can access everything easily by walking. We visited all (yes, every one) of the top 25 things to see in Prague by Fodor’s, which was a first for me and quite the accomplishment. We also came across the number one restaurant in Prague and ate there, after first discovering a Chocolate café that I miss dearly. We loved the café so much; we went every day to it. The thick, pudding-like hot chocolate came in various assortments such as vanilla or with fruit at the bottom. We snacked on traditional Czech foods—one could call our spring break a culinary trip! In the evening we went to a jazz club, a typical part of Prague’s (rather small) nightlife. We also saw Europe’s biggest club.

After Prague, my friend flew back to Rome and I headed to Germany with the most comfortable bus I have ever been on. Now—this bus is really worth mentioning. When I was looking for tickets I picked it because it was only 20 Euros from Prague to Munich, and to fly would have been 150+. I was a tad worried about it being sketchy, until I saw it. The interior was set up on the lower level as two living rooms and on the top like a train. Four very comfortable hours flew by and then I was on the München Hauptbahnhof.

In Munich, I met up with my boyfriend and one of my friends from the JFORCE. We spent the evenings eating typical Bavarian food and then going to “hidden” bars and clubs. During the day, I went around seeing all of the monuments, stores and buildings I haven’t seen yet—there really is so much! Of course, Munich is not comparable to Rome in the sense of things to do and see.

Now I am back in Rome (Smiley face), having to start studying again (No!).  

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

