Fiction On-site and Spring break coming up!

On Sunday our Rome Start “Introduction to Fiction” class had a make-up onsite in Mompeo, a small village area about an hour and a half from Rome. There we spent the morning discussing Raymond Carver’s (an American short story writer and poet) short stories with Raymond Carver’s Italian translator. He knew Raymond Carver personally for many years and has translated several of his books and stories. We also talked about translating as a career and art, which was very interesting. Translating non-sense material, for example, was something I had never thought of. The translator lives on top of a hill looking over Mompeo, which was absolutely gorgeous. He was also kind enough to take us to a local restaurant for lunch, where we continued our “class” about Carver. (It was way better than a class!)

This week is beyond busy, and after many sleepless (as in four hour) nights last week, I am exhausted. Today we had a Sociology midterm, tomorrow a paper for Theology is due (along with an onsite class to five or six churches!) and I have an Italian midterm, on Wednesday a paper for English is due along with finishing a novel, and on Thursday I have a Calculus midterm. It is nuts, but I am managing. And of course I can’t sleep in the first day of Spring break on Friday because my roommate and I will be flying then to Krakow, Poland! We are spending three days in Krakow, three in Prague, Czech Republic and then Nikki is flying back to Rome and I am heading to Germany for the last four days.

Needless to say, there is no lack of things to do for the next two weeks!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

