Weekend in Germany ends in a hassle (yet again) with the Roman transportation system

After spending the weekend in Munich, Germany, I arrived in Rome at around 7pm yesterday evening. However I did not reach the school until almost 11pm. There wasn’t a strike, it was just Sunday! On Sunday the trains only run every 2-3 hours instead of every 15 minutes, and of course I was lucky enough to miss my planned train by about one minute. It all turned out in the end though. I met this nice couple from Romania, and I was able to practice my Italian (with some English mixed in) for about two hours on an empty train in Trastevere. I’m thankful that they were there; otherwise I wouldn’t have known to take the train to the next station to pick up the train to the school, or even when the next one was coming. So my plan of getting back to school early to catch up on homework was crushed yet again by the Roman transportation system. There is no use being early, on-time or late for the buses or trains. In Rome I have learned to just be. Although this often made me want to give up using the transportation system (impossible to do in Rome), I have now learned patience like never before.
This week is turning out to be one of the most stressful in a long time. Today I forgot about an Italian quiz, so I had to wing it. Rome Start is going out to dinner with the Head of Admissions at Loyola tonight, and afterwards I will be busy doing homework for tomorrow. I have at least 150 pages to read this week, along with a paper to write, about 15 hours of internship time to put in, four hours of tutoring, a math test, working at the library, and then hopefully (hopefully!) I will be able to relax on Sunday and call home. We’ll see if it all gets done!

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Academics, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

