JFRC Prom and yummy Italian dinners!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This last week was full of studying, studying, studying, and on top of that, more studying. For three classes I had to write papers, and for four classes I had to take final exams too. Finals week also consisted of the final Banquet, which the SLAs called the JFRC Prom, on Thursday evening. We went to this awesome club/restaurant downtown for dinner and an awards ceremony and then afterwards it was turned into a dance floor.
I am starting to think that Italians are more brutally honest than the Germans…. my waiter that night totally called me out on not being a vegetarian but acting like one so I could get the better dish…and then went and told all of his waiter friends about me, who brought me two meals full of meat….. Ah, Italia!
Besides the Banquet, this week was full of yummy dinners! Rome Start also went out for dinner with Susana Cavallo and Father Chandler for the last dinner of our Freshmen Seminar class. On Saturday evening, my friends Nicole, Laura and I went on the Pizza dinner with Father Al, which was at a cute Pizza place near the Pantheon. I do have to say that the Priests at the JFRC are really funny and easy to chat with.
Then last night my friends and I went out for our last dinner together at this place called “l’archetto” which has more than one hundred and fifty assortments of spaghetti. The food was amazing, it was the best spaghetti I have ever had! Tomorrow we are going shopping and around the city to see the mouth of truth, the keyhole, the orange gardens and perhaps a Christmas market, but not the tacky one at Piazza Navona! It’s really sad that (except for Nikki, my roommate for next semester) everyone is leaving on Friday to go home! I have made some awesome friends this semester, and especially my roommate. I’m excited to go to the Chicago campus next fall to see all of them!
I’m leaving Saturday and won’t be blogging for a month, so Ci Vediamo a Gennaio!

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Academics, Rome. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

