Thanksgiving break in Germany

The one big thing I miss about living in Germany: efficient public transportation. I arrived in Rome at 6:20 tonight and didn’t actually get to the Rome Center until 10: 15, because of a strike. The trains were thankfully still running, but just at the speed that they wanted to, coming and going as they pleased. But, I waited for a train from Trastevere to Balduina for two hours on at outside platform. However in the meantime I was able to practice my newly acquired language skills, and it seems like Italian 101 is really helping. I had almost no problem to understand people tonight and I even held a small conversation with a young Italian guy who is studying medicine in Rome.  However, after getting to the Rome Center and talking with some friends, it wasn’t the worst case. Two of my friends spent break in Venice and had bought tickets way ahead of time for a train from Venice to Rome yesterday in the early evening. There was a strike there too and they ended up waiting at an outside sketch station until three in the morning (about seven hours) for the next train to come. So, needless to say, tonight wasn’t as bad as it could’ve been. I did learn the fastest and easiest way to get to the airport without having to take a taxi though, so that was one good thing that came out of my night.
Anyways, Thanksgiving break was lovely. I was really able to relax, try to go shopping (I couldn’t find a jacket that I liked and that didn’t cost 200 Euro) and just hang out. It was very chill, and I am happy I did that because now I feel reenergized for these last couple of weeks! Only three more weeks till the end of the semester, I can hardly believe that it has all gone by so fast.
Next weekend: Vienna and Budapest! Here I come.

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Cultural Differences, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

