Fernando’s Travel Tips

The only thing that I can say about this week is that Rome is freezing!!!! It’s way too cold! I don’t have enough clothes for this cold season! You would never imagine a city like Rome gets to be around 40 degrees Fahrenheit at night, until you leave campus one evening dressed like you are going for a walk at the North Pole! It has been so cold that I hardly left campus this weekend and instead spent most of my weekend on campus finishing papers and studying.  At least this way I’m on top of my work and don’t have to think about school next week while I’m in Madrid for Thanksgiving break.

With that said, I will give you the most important advice in your life! If you are coming to Rome for one year, you will definitely be traveling a lot (especially because at the JFRC we have classes from Mondays through Thursdays – isn’t that awesome?!?). My travel advice is this: you should book all your flights using edreams.com; it’s the cheapest way to find low cost flights.  Here’s an even better piece of advice: what you should do is get the e-dreams Master Card. As many of you know, every time you book any flight online and pay with a credit card, they charge you. For example: this semester I used Diners Club and every time I booked something there was a 25 euro fee in addition to the normal fees! If you use the e-dreams Master Card, not only do they not charge you a fee, but they give you a big discount on the flight! For example: my flight from Rome to Madrid was 40 euro round trip base price.  Using my usual credit card I ended paying 73.50 euro. Assuming I used the e-dreams credit card the total would be 35.99 euro. Obviously if you are just going to travel once, is not worth it, but this semester I have been on 4 trips.  Just for using my credit card I spent 100 euro more than I actually should have spent! If you are a Rome Start student, then you will spend around 9 months in Rome and I’m sure you will take at least 4 trips a semester if not more. Applying for my e-dreams credit card was so easy and you don’t have to change banks or anything. They make the whole process so easy for you – you don’t have to worry about anything. If you are going to be in Europe you must travel! From those trips you will learn so much.  Don’t think about it as an expense, think of it as a part of your education.  Traveling teaches you so many new things; it will shape who you are and who you will become.  The experiences you will have living in Rome and traveling around Europe will be a valuable experience that will stay with you for the rest of your life.

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

