Museum nights, Roma soccer match and Permesso

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thanksgiving Break is coming! I can’t wait!
This weekend was the last weekend before our Thanksgiving break. On Friday we had classes but that ended up being ok, I wanted to get most of my papers for finals done before break because I don’t have much time after that. Saturday morning I went with some friends to pick up my Permesso at the local police station. This is basically a document that, if needed, I can show officials to prove that I am living legally in the country/Europe. Saturday was also Clean-Up Balduina. A couple of the Rome Start students participated in the neighborhood clean-up day and guided nature hike in the local Monte Mario reserve.
On Saturday evenings through the end of January certain museum entrances are free and are shown with musical or dance shows. My friends and I went to Museo dell’Ara Pacis to see the Audrey Hepburn exhibit along with a ballet inspired by her. I knew almost nothing about Audrey before and the exhibit was truly fascinating. I learned that she was a major fashion icon and actually inspired such items as the little black dress and bug-eyed sunglasses.
Sunday was spent shopping and walking around the city. The city glimmered in the late afternoon light, which reminded me of how beautiful Rome really is. Plus, thanks to my “World of Classical Rome” class, I am able to appreciate the antiquity much more.
In the evening we all got bundled up to go to a….ROMA GAME! Yes, that’s right; we went to a real Roma football match. It was freezing, full with angry Italians waving flags and one of the best “culture” events I have been to this far!
Plus, it keeps getting better…two more days till Thanksgiving Break!

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Community Service, Rome. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

