Awesome Loyola Professors, Russian-Italian art, Hunger Week in Rome and Chicago

If I haven’t mentioned this yet, the absolute best thing about Loyola is Professors. On Wednesday evening we had an on-site class for Philosophy at an art exhibit about Russian art before and after the Soviet Union. 2011 marks the year of Russia and Italy, and the exhibit was designed to educate the Italian public about Russia. This is the first year Italy has partaken in a “Year” with another country. There are also, of course, Italian exhibits in Moscow, Russia. Anyway, the on-site class was awesome! We had a very informative tour guide and we were able to relate the ideas to what we are learning in class about government.  After the tour, we went out to dinner with our professor and some of her colleagues from the University of Rome, who were other Professors of Philosophy in Rome and around Italy, which made for truly interesting conversation.
This week was Hunger Week, not only at the Chicago campus, but also here in Rome. We had the opportunity to fast on Thursday which meant giving up our Mensa meals and the school would donate the money. There was also a Silent Auction where staff, students, and local businesses donated their services to help raise money. On Monday evening, the movie Food Inc., a movie about the food industry in the United States was shown. (What a mess we have there!) The movie ended up being made by the same person whose book I am reading for Environmental Sustainability so it was pretty interesting.
This weekend my friends and I did the usual, shopping at a massive market in Rome, strolling through the city, eating at Pizza Magi’s and devouring Gelato.  Overall, life was pretty chill. I was able to get a lot of homework done, and now I just can’t wait for Thanksgiving break in a week and a half!

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Academics, Community Service. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

