Host Family is in town!

My host family from Germany arrived late Saturday night and we met up at Piazza di Popolo on Sunday morning. We spent the whole day wandering around Rome, visiting all of the tourist attractions. I tried my best to explain to them, for example, that a café next to the Pantheon would be expensive, but they for some reason didn’t believe me. At one point, we ended up paying 60 Euro for 8 slices of pizza—and another time my host dad order Tiramisu at a very tourist-y café, paid 7 Euro for it and it was frozen. He proceeded to get up and throw the desert at the bar waiter, screaming in his Bavarian dialect “Tiramisu: NO ICE.” I finally went in and explained to the waiter in Italian that I live in Rome and know that Tiramisu is not served frozen here. He gave in—and let my host dad order something else.
That night we ate at one of the best restaurants in Balduina—Capri, and we discovered that my host family is staying only about five minutes away from the campus! It was great to spend the day with them in Rome and I look forward to going out with my host sisters on Tuesday night!
My friends and I just booked the last weekend before they all depart (well I guess me too, but I am just spending winter break in Germany—it’s not too far away) for the U.S. We are going to VIENNA!! I can’t wait. Vienna is one of the most important German-speaking cities and I want to see everything! It is however, also very expensive. But thanks to the Forza Roma Scholarship, going to Vienna became an opportunity for me. Thank you Forza Roma!
This weekend my roommate and another friend of ours are planning on going to Abruzzo, where my roommate’s family lives. (She’s Italian). We haven’t booked any train tickets yet so I’m not exactly sure what we’re doing, but I would just be happy to get out of Rome for the weekend!

Advertisements

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Rome. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s