Out and About in Roma

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

It rained all day Friday, which wasn’t too bad with mid-terms coming up because we needed the day to study anyway. However on Saturday the weather was perfect and we decided to explore around the city. We have all been to the main tourist attractions already, but the Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, Piazza del Popolo and Via del Curso never seem to get boring. A new attraction for me was the Pantheon, which is a huge building with a hole in the ceiling. It houses Catholic religious statues and there is still a mass service there. However, if you want to go to the five o’clock mass, you should get there around 2:30 in order to get a chair—there are only about 50-60 chairs max, and at three o’clock when we were there only a couple seats left.
While walking around looking for a non-touristy restaurant to try, we ran into a new exhibit at an Art Museum about Georgia O’Keefe. Georgia O’Keefe was a female painter from Wisconsin who is known for her paintings of the desert in New Mexico, which is also where she died. With our luck, we were at the Museum on some promotional day, and we all got in for free! It turned out to be a very flattering set-up of all her work and the time periods and major events from when she created it. Although Art is not my thing, I really enjoyed the museum and totally recommend it!
This week was completely stressful with mid-terms, and I was “lucky” enough to have my most difficult mid-term (World of Classical Rome) on the last day of school in the last two hours, leaving me anxious the whole week.  But, hard work paid off and I feel pretty confident that I did not fail anything.
On Friday I am headed to Germany to visit my host family, friends and boyfriend for fall break. I’m flying with Ryan Air, a budget airline, and I hope nothing goes wrong because I have heard so many horror stories of excessive fees and the like…I’ll update you next week to tell you how it went.

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Academics, Rome. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

