Ostia Antica and the Papal Audience

Ostia Antica was a small ancient port-city located roughly 20 kilometers outside of Rome.  Our Study trip on Friday took us there and also to see Catacombs. Both parts of the trip were awesome, but I think seeing the ruins of the port city was by far the best. It was totally worth the 35 Euro, especially since everything was so organized and we didn’t have to worry about a thing.
On Wednesday we went to the Papal Audience in the Vatican. It was amazing seeing so many countries represented in Vatican City and all of them there to see such an important religious figure. It will be an experience that I will share with others when I return home. Loyola was called off of a list of visitors, and some of the groups/congregations mentioned even sang or danced for the Pope. He spoke about his travels to Germany, his home country, which I was aware of because all of the controversy surrounding it. (Apparently it cost the German government a LOT of money—I think between 30-50 million, not including security personnel). I found it weird that he didn’t want to go to his home state of Bavaria, which is also where I lived.
This weekend was supposed to be filled with studying for me, but I ended up not getting much of anything done. On Saturday a friend of mine and I went to Pizza Magi’s, a quaint pizza joint by the neighborhood supermarket Simply, and had some of the best pizza I have had since being in Italy. I will definitely be going out for pizza more often, although Mensa has had some awesome pizza too.
Tomorrow we have our mandatory fingerprinting for our Permission to Stay documents from 8-12. (We’ve been told to bring a book with….). Afterwards I’ve got an interview for my internship for next semester. I am hoping I get the internship in a local clinic or hospital….but I am happy with anything. Just being able to do an internship in a foreign country will look great on my Resume no matter what I do.

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Academics, Study Trips. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

