Classes and day trip to Tivoli

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thursday marked the day of our first quiz in Italian 101, which with enough studying throughout the week was rather easy. Learning a language in a classroom is much different for me—in Germany I learned to speak just by immersion, which frankly is my preferred method. In Philosophy we had our first role-play/debate about what happiness is, and my group won! Our teacher really loves what she does, and her passion for the subject is really cool to see…it’s never a boring lecture with her!

In the evening we went out to eat pizza at an award-winning restaurant near Piazza Navona. It was also the first night that we got home without getting lost and without having to take the night buses, which are sometimes a hassle to catch.  On Friday a couple of the Rome Start students and I went to Piazza di Popolo, one of my favorite places in Rome so far. It is enchanting by day and by night is filled with awesome street entertainers, not to mention the fabulous shopping!

We woke up early on Saturday to catch a train to a nearby town called Tivoli. It’s about 30 km from Rome and makes for a great day trip. It was extremely nice for me to get away from the often (if not always) hectic Roma…and escape to a place where the Italians aren’t outnumbered by tourists. We saw Villa Gregoriana, with its flowing water falls and Villa d’Este, a huge estate with beautiful artwork and gardens. The whole ride there and back cost less than 3 Euros, which was just another perk to our day trip!

This week we have the Papal Audience, which should be interesting although I am not really sure what to expect. To finish off the week I am headed to Ostia Antica on the school study trip, which from what I have read, should be a highlight of the Rome area.

About Jessica Raboin

My name is Jessica Raboin and I am a first-year student in the Rome Start program at Loyola University Chicago. I am interested in studying Environmental Science/Pre-Med with minors in languages (as many as I can learn!). I enjoy running, learning languages, sewing and traveling with my best friend. Although I'm a U.S. citizen, I lived in Germany before I came to the Rome Start program.
This entry was posted in Academics, Rome, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

