E così, l’anno è finito…

I look back at august 26th, 2012 and I see the seven of us. We were all excited and just so pumped for a year in Rome and to then go on to continue in Chicago.

What an amazing year this has been. I feel really bad actually, because I cannot possibly describe to you the degree of how incredible it has been, how much I love this city and this country and its people, and how much I have learned. This program has turned my life around for the best, I’ve met so many people (Americans, Italians and other Europeans) and I love them all so much. We’ve grown together in this amazing experience. We’ve seen and lived through things so beautiful and so amazing, we probably never thought we would.

Fall semester was great but, man was Spring semester awesome! It was the perfect way to wrap up my freshman year. I’m going to miss this. I already do and I’m staying here for the summer! I can’t believe it. Wow…

I fast-forward eight months and I see the seven of us. We are all excited and pumped for our year in Chicago and whatever the future will hold.

And finally, as tears start to roll down my cheeks: Here’s to one of the most incredible places on Earth. A place that has taught me so much about life, myself, travelling, other people, acceptance, maturity, and tolerance. A place that has never failed to surprise me. A place that is filled with beauty from the tiny, hidden alley to the glorious Colosseum or the Vatican. A place that has given me so much for nearly a year now. A place I can call ‘home’. Here’s to the end of the best freshman year of university anyone could ever ask for and to spending my summer here to conclude my year abroad. Amor~Roma spelled backwards.

Shoutout to Dr. Susana Cavallo, Cynthia Bomben, Dr. Michael Beazley, Anna Carlson and Carla Mollica, thank you all for making our year!

About Daniela Argüello

I'm a freshman at Loyola University Chicago and I am in the Rome Start Program, so I currently live in Loyola's John Felice Rome Centre. I was born in Miami, FL but I am from Nicaragua and I've lived there for most of my life. I chose this program because I've always been fascinated by Italy and I wanted to do something different from everyone else back home, so why not start my university experience in one of the greatest cities of the world instead of back home or directly in the US? I absolutely love the program and Rome and I would not change it for anything!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

